The Grind / French Press

Image

This is a bit off topic for my blog, but I do work at a coffee shop, love drinking coffee from all over the world, and would like to share some of the sensual coffee making tips I have picked up on my travels.

So, I find myself intrigued with the whole coffee culture. The sensual flavors that cascade warmth throughout a person, or the brilliant conversations it has inspired. So much has been done over a cup of coffee, and I thought I would talk a bit about how to make the best damn homemade cup of coffee you ever tasted.

We all, most likely, have used/have and automatic drip machine. It is a common household appliance, and because of its convenience, we have almost used this contraption exclusively. Today, I want to introduce an archaic-ish brewing method that might very well change your life. (Freaking amazing flavors)

La ~ French Press:

This is a pretty well known, yet, under-appreciated method. The French press method is perhaps my favorite brewing method for straight coffee (just before pour over). It creates bold hario-french-pressflavors with just enough of an acidic note.  The flavors do vary from blend to blend, but the French press method is a great thing to know. Let’s get to it.

What you need:

  • French Press
  • Coarse Ground Coffee beans (you can take it to your local coffee shop to get it ground or do it yourself)
  • 15 minutes to enjoy the awesomeness of the coffee.

Step one: Start to boil your water. Your target temp is 200 F.

Step two: Per five cups of coffee, place 4 spoons full (like a normal spoon, let’s not make this hard) of coffee into the French press.

Step three: Once you’ve reached the correct temperature for the water, pour it into the French press and then place the lid of the press on top to trap the heat. DON’T BEGIN TO PRESS YET!!

Wait you little eager beaver!! (corny, and so unlike me to say this.. I’m sorry…)

Wait 3 ½ minutes before you slowly, sexually, tenderly, press the press.

Pour into a cup and enjoy. Please don’t taint the flavor of your coffee with sugar or milk :/

The next method, which I will post tomorrow, is destined for milk’s tender touch, but French press is a beautifully simple thing.

Tomorrow’s Method: Vietnamese Coffee

– Devon

Tsim Sha Tsui

Tsim Sha Tsui Cafe in the sky

One response to “The Grind / French Press

  1. Pingback: Morning Coffee | Ellis Bailey·

Leave a comment